Governance of District Police, Ernakulam Rural

The Ernakulam Rural District force headed by a Superintendent of Police of IPS cadre designated as District Police Chief, comprises of Addl.Superintendent of Police, Deputy Superintendent of Polices, Inspectors, Sub Inspectors, , Assistant Sub Inspectors, Senior Civil Police Officers, Civil Police Officers and Women Police numbering around 2200 and approximately 50000 cases are handled per annum. In addition to this, there are about 85 numbers of ministerial staffs helps the staff officers in various aspects of service and other petition matters

The Police District is divided into Sub Divisions and Police Stations each headed by the officer of the rank of Deputy Superintendent of Police, Inspector of Police and Sub Inspector of Police respectively. Special Units/Cells like District Special Branch, District Head Quarter, District Crime Records Bureau, District Crime Branch, Narcotic Cell, Armed Reserve and each is headed by one officer of the rank of Deputy Superintendent of Police / Asst. Commandant. Cyber Crime Police station under the supervision of Narcotic Cell, The Cyber Cell is under the supervision of District Crime Records Bureau and the Women Cell is under the supervision of District Crime Branch, are all helps to maintain the law and order, crime prevention and crime investigation in the entire District Police

The Sanctioned Strength of Ernakulam Rural District are 10 DySPs, 2 Asst.Commandants, 35 Inspector of Police, 1 Women Inspector of Police, 3 Reserve Inspectors, 88 Sub Inspectors, 8 Reserve Sub Inspectors, 7 Women Sub Inspectors, 82 Asst Sub Inspectors, 11 Reserve Asst Sub Inspectors, 389 Senior Civil Police Officers, 920 Civil Police Officers, 9 Women Senior Civil Police Officers and 219 Women Civil Police Officers.