Ernakulam Rural Police District was formed on 01-04.1966. The district comprises of an area of 2330.659 Sq. Kms. The district has been divided into 5 police Sub Divisions viz 1) Aluva, 2) Perumbavoor and 3) Muvattupuzha 4) Puthencruz 5) Munambam.

   Presently, 34 police stations, Cyber Crime Police station and one Women Cell are functioning in this district. Other special units functioning in this district are District Special Branch, District Crime Records Bureau, District Crime Branch and Narcotic Cell. In addition to this, there is an Armed Reserve Police Camp, with a Motor Transport Wing is also here for assisting the local police in maintaining law and order. For taking care along the National and state highways in the district, there are 4 Highway Police patrolling vehicles viz. 1) K- 23 (NH 47 Muttom to Karukutty), 2) K-24 (NH -17 Moothakunnam to Gosree Bridge) 3) K-25 (MC Road Angamaly to Choorakuzhy (Koothattukulam)) and 4) K-51 (AM Road Aluva to Kothamangalam ) are operating in this district.

   Apart from this, Cochin International Airport, one of the busiest airports in the Country, is situated within Nedumbassery PS limits (SHO is an officer not below the rank of Inspector of Police). The Birthplace of Jagad Guru Adi Sankaracharya within Kalady PS and Chottanikkara Bhagavathy Temple within Chottaniakra PS limits, Malayatoor St. Thomas Church within Kalady PS limits, Siva Rathri Manappuram, Aluva, where pilgrims from various parts of India arrive, are in this district. Police aid posts have been functioning in the Airport and at Chottanikkara, Muvattupuzha, Pampakuda, Aluva Railway square and Aluva Sivarathry Manappuram

There are 6 Municipalities (Aluva, North Paravur, Angamaly, Perumbavoor, Muvattupuzha and Kothamangalam) and 118 Panchayaths, 10 Legislative Assembly Constituencies are there in the jurisdiction of the Ernakulam Rural police district. Ernakulam Rural includes, four Parliamentary constituencies, namely Chalakudy, Ernakulam, Idukki and Kottayam.

   The Sanctioned Strength of Ernakulam Rural District are 10 DySPs, 2 Asst. Commandants, 35 Inspector of Police, 1 Women Inspector of Police, 3 Reserve Inspectors, 88 Sub Inspectors, 8 Reserve Sub Inspectors, 7 Women Sub Inspectors, 82 Asst Sub Inspectors, 11 Reserve Asst Sub Inspectors, 389 Senior Civil Police Officers, 920 Civil Police Officers, 9 Women Senior Civil Police Officers and 219 Women Civil Police Officers.

Our Motto

The motto of the force is "Mridhu Bhave Dhrida Kruthye" which means "Soft in Temperament, Firm in Action" in Sanskrit.

Vision and Mission

As the part of Kerala Police Department, we are committed to providing the highest quality of police services to the people. We will constantly evaluate and improve our efforts to enhance public safety and maintain law & order respecting citizen's rights and uplifting dignity.

The duty of police is to help secure the society in which the rights and responsibilities of individuals, families and communities are properly balanced. The main objectives of the police are for
1.  Ensure safety and reduce disorders,
2.  Reduce crime and the fear of crime
3.  Contribute to the delivery of justice, which secures and maintains public confidence in the rule of law

Keeping the above aspects in view, the Ernakulam Rural District Police has been associated with the general public in their day-to-day life. They function with the object of safeguarding the life and property of the people and providing them adequate security by preventing crimes. Functioning of the Ernakulam Rural District Police is always under close scrutiny by the public in all its aspects because the State has a responsibility to provide a standardized and comprehensive Police service, which makes the public feel safe.

Last updated on Monday 9th of May 2022 PM