Aluva Sub Division


The Aluva Sub Division was formed in the year 1967. The present Sub Division office was constructed in 2004 and office started functioning from 17.12.2004. There are 6 Circle Offices within the Sub division are Aluva, Angamaly, Airport station, Nedumbassery, North Paravur , Vadakkekkara & Njarakkal. The sub division is consisting of 13 Police Stations and three traffic units ( Aluva, North Paravoor & Angamaly ).. National Highway is starting from Muttom to Karukutty with a span of 30 Kilometres covering three Police station limits ie Aluva East, Airport Station Nedumbassery & Angamaly Police stations. And National Highway 17 starting from Varapuzha Bridge to Moothakunnam bridge ( About 17 Kms) covering three Police stations ie Varapuzha, North Pravoor and Vadakkekkara Police Stations. Total area of the Sub division is 529.51 Sq KMs

There are 13 Police Stations comes under Aluva the sub division . The Police Stations are Aluva East , Aluva West, Binanipuram, Edathala, Angamaly, Chengamanadu, Nedumbasery, North-Paravoor, Varappuzha Vadakkekara, Puthenvelikara, Njarackal,and Munambam.

In addition to this, 3 Traffic Units and Control Room are also functioning under this sub division housed at Aluva, Angamaly and North Paravoor Police Stations.


The boundaries of the Sub Division are in the Eastern side Perumbavoor Sub Division is situated, Northern side Thrissur District, Western side the Arabian Sea and in Southern side the Kochi City

The entire Aluva Taluk and North Paravur Taluk & Partial of Fort Kochi Taluk comprise the Aluva Sub Division. Aluva Sub division has three Municipalities 1. Aluva, North Paravoor & Angamaly. There are 28 Grama Panchayaths within the Sub division in which Sreemoolanagaram Panchayath is partial.

River Periyar and its tributaries is the main river flowing through this Sub division and the River Periyar flows through Muvattupuzha, Perumbavoor and Aluva Sub division limits. In the banks of river Periyar ( Sivarathri Manappuram ) the main festival named Mahasivarathri Festival is being celebrated. The devotees from different parts of the state pay rituals to their ancestors in the banks during the festival period and during the time of Karkkida vavu on every year

There are 3 Taluk facilitated Govt. Hospitals are functioning with in Aluva Sub division they are Dist.Head Quarter Hospital,Aluva, Taluk Hospital, North Paravoor and Taluk Hospital, Angamaly. There are three Railway stations in the sub Division, ie Aluva, Angamaly and Chowara. There are three KSRTC Bus stands in the Sub division Aluva, Angamaly & North Paravoor. Private Bus stands are Aluva, Angamaly,North Paravoor, Varapuzha & Vypeen. There is one Fishing harbour within the Sub division ie Munambam Fishing Harbour. Two beaches are also functioning with in Aluva Sub division ie Cherai and Elamkunnapuzha beaches. A light house is also situated within Njarakkal Police station at Valappu. There are two coastal area Police stations and they are Njarakkal and Munambam Police stations the Coastal Area consists 25 Kms of length in the western side near to Arabian Sea. LNG Terminal is functioning with in Njarakkal Police Station with in Aluva Sub Division. There are 9 Arts Colleges and 6 Engineering colleges and One Medical College within the Sub Division. There are about 65 Schools including CBSE Schools are functioning within Aluva Sub division. Three Industrial Estates are functioning within the Sub division ie Edathala, Edayar and Chambannoor. The main bridges of Aluva Sub Division are MarthandaVarama, Mangalappuzha, Karayamparambu In NH 47 and Varapuzha & Moothakunnam bridges in NH-17. Water Treatment Plant, Aluva ISRO Erumathala ,NAD Aluva are also functioning within the Sub division. Another specification to this Sub division is, it has an International Airport within the limits of Nedumbassery ie CIAL. Which is functioning from 1999 onwards.

Police Stations in Aluva Sub Division

  • Aluva Sub Division
      • Aluva East PS
      • Aluva West PS
      • Binanipuram PS
      • Edathala PS
      • Aluva Traffic Unit
      • Angamaly PS
      • Chengamanadu PS
      • Angamaly Traffic Unit
      • Nedumbasery PS
      • North-Paravoor PS
      • Varappuzha PS
      • North-Paravoor Traffic Unit
      • Vadakkekara PS
      • Puthenvelikara PS
      • Njarackal PS
      • Munambam PS